Reality Check

20161016_170654A few months ago I started swimming again. After 12 years, I never thought I would have gone back to the swimming pool. And I never thought I would have put myself into open waters.

This blog was born out of a reality check. Back in the swimming pool regularly, after three months I felt better than I expected. I felt the wish to participate again in swimming competitions, and I signed up for a master swimming membership, thou I am still training alone.

Here downunder it’s almost summer and since the season of open water swimming is starting, I signed up for an ocean swimming meeting. Just a 2.5km at Cottesloe beach, nothing exceptional. I thought “easy”. But this morning I realized that I overestimated myself, or  maybe underestimated the Indian Ocean, more likely both. I had a reality check. I knew that swimming in an ocean is not swimming in a swimming pool, but I didn’t know that the difference is that huge.

My swimming this morning lasted half of what I had planned. Waves were stronger than I had imagined, and a 18C degree  water was much colder that the heated swimming pool I am used to.

Then, the reality check. I had to came out of the water after 2km. I was freezing. I shaked for at least 40 minutes (no hot showers near the beach, of course). A cup of hot coffee did pretty nothing, just it showed me that I was shaking so much that when I ordered it I could not even articulate sounds properly. I don’t think I ever felt such cold in my life.

My first competition is in two weeks (October 29th). My goal before this morning was to swim those 2.5km in less that 40 minutes. Now my goal is just to swim those 2.5km.  I think it’s going to be lots of fun.

 

Leave a Reply

